Train to be a Firefighter
This program prepares students with the fundamental knowledge and skills necessary to safely and dependably perform fire/rescue duties during emergency and non-emergency response situations. Students learn the tasks, duties, and responsibilities of a firefighter in accordance with NFPA Standard 1001 and Florida State Statute 633. This program is a contiguous program, in which Firefighter I and Firefighter II are offered in a series. Students desiring to obtain a State of Florida Certificate of Compliance (Firefighter II) must successfully complete the series (398 contiguous hours). They may then participate in the written and practical examinations administered by the state. This certification is required for employment as a firefighter. Job titles: Volunteer Firefighter, Career Firefighter.
The Firefighter program is certified through the Florida State Fire College.
Firefighter classes begin in January and August of each year. To be put on the mailing list please call Teresa Campbell at 386-506-4203 or you can email her by using the link below.
Special Admission Requirements:
- Must apply for admission to Daytona State College.
- Must take TABE - students need one attempt of test (minimum of 8 in each of the three sections) to enter the course and must have 10 in each section before completion of the course.
- Must complete fire academy application - available in Fire Science Department office in June for Fall class and in October for Spring class.
- Must have physical examination.
- Must be 18 years of age before completion of the course.
- Must have a standard high school diploma or a GED.
- Must not currently be on probation.
- Must have no felony convictions in the past 4 years.
- Must successfully complete a state mandated criminal background check.
- Must complete a physical skills assessment (Agility Test) prior to acceptance into the course.
- Must complete the Fire Academy Orientation.
- Must order classroom uniforms.
- Must rent firefighter bunker gear.
- Must purchase textbooks and classroom supplies/materials.
- Must register for the course and pay tuition and lab fees.
- Must follow the rules and regulations outlined in the Student Handbook, as well as those of the college Student Handbook.
- Must successfully complete both course titles as a unit (398 contact hours) in order to take the state certification examination.
- Must not have used tobacco products (cigarettes, snuff, chewing tobacco, etc.) for one year prior to employment at a fire service agency.
For more information, please contact Teresa Campbell
Phone: (386) 506-4203