- What is the tuition and fees?
- When is my bill due and how do I pay my bill?
- What happens if I have financial aid?
- Can I get a loan to buy my books?
- Why is there a "hold" on my account?
- What is a Bridge Loan?
- Why am I being charged out of state tuition?
- Can I get a refund if I drop a course?
- How can I use my Bright Futures scholarship?
- How do I pay tuition if I have the Florida Prepaid College plan? Does it pay for all my tuition? If not, how long do I have to pay? Does Florida PrePaid pay for my books?
- Why did I receive a Daytona State One Card, and do I have to activate it?
- Do I need a parking decal and is there a charge for a decal?
- How do I get a 1098-T form for tax purposes?
The tuition rate is set each year by the State of Florida and the District Board of Trustees. The current rate is listed at the Office of Student Accounts website at www.daytonastate.edu/studentaccounts.
Each time you register you need to print out your Schedule and Fee Statement. Not only does this show the start date of your classes, it also displays you tuition and fee bill and provides your bill due date. The college does not mail a tuition bill for Spring or Summer registrants, but will mail a bill in early July, once the new tuition rate is set by the legislature, to those students who have registered for the fall term. In most cases students have 10 days to pay or defer the bill, but this collapses to one day as the start date of classes gets closer. Students can also obtain a Falcon Loan at the Office of Student Accounts to assist with tuition payments. Generall, the student must make a down payment of 50% of the cost of tuition and the Falcon Loan will be awarded to cover the other half. More information is available at www.daytonastate.edu/studentaccounts/institutional.
Students who have an approved financial aid award or scholarship are allowed to defer payment. Disbursement of aid balances will take place after enrollment is verified.
Students who have an approved aid award greater than the tuition bill are able to receive a Book Voucher. All students are able to request a Book Loan from the Office of Student Accounts.
A financial hold will be placed on a student account if there is a balance due to the College. Some examples include when the deferred amount is not sufficient to cover the entire bill; when tuition or book loans are not paid by the due date; and when financial aid is not approved shortly after the start of classes.
Only residents of Florida pay the in-state rate. Students who have not fully completed the Residency Affidavit with Admissions, and students whose permanent residence is outside of Florida are charged the non-resident rate.
Students who drop a course prior to the end of the add/drop period receive a 100% refund. This date is one week after the start of full term classes, and 3 days after the start of 7-week terms. Please refer to the Academic Calendar for the exact date for each term. After these dates, you may withdraw from a course, but you will not be entitled to a refund.
Bright Futures awards are state awards that pay a potion of the tuition bill for the first 2 years of college. The Office of Financial Aid uploads the Bright Futures awards every night once the billing cycle has begun.
The Office of Student Accounts will bill the Florida Prepaid College Program on the student's behalf. In order to have the Florida Prepaid College Program applied to tuition and fees, the student must either bring in their Florida Prepaid card to the Office of Student Accounts or fax a copy of the card to 386-506-4443. It is the student's responsibility to specify how many hours they would like applied to their student account. The Florida Prepaid program does NOT cover access fees, books, assessment fees, or lab fees. The student must pay any remaining balance due after Florida Prepaid has been applied by the due date on the Schedule and Fee Statement to avoid cancellation of classes for nonpayment. If a student adds a course after the initial award is applied, it is the student's responsibility to notify the Office of Student Accounts so the award can be adjusted accordingly. If the Florida Prepaid College Program declines to pay any amount billed, the outstanding balance due becomes the student's responsibility to pay.
All registered students are mailed a Daytona State OneCard. The card must be activated and a refund method chosen in order for a student to receive a refund for a dropped class or to receive a financial aid disbursement.
All students who will be parking on campus must obtain a parking decal. The first decal is free and any subsequent decals are $10 each.
1098-T forms are automatically mailed to students by January 31st of each year. Students whose total scholarships and grants exceed their total tuition charges for the year will NOT receive a form. To obtain a duplicate form, call 1-877-467-3821 to have one mailed or go online to www.tcrs.com to print a duplicate. Many times, scholarships are the difference betwen whether or not a person is able to complete a college education. At Daytona State, you'll find many resources that can help you in your scholarship search. Scholarships are awarded each semester. The Daytona State College Foundation Donor Scholarships home page, daytonastate.scholarships.nelnet.net is where you go to apply.
For more information contact Student Accounts:firstname.lastname@example.org