My Daytona State

Planning Council Committees

Planning Council Committees are working groups that support the Planning Council by researching issues and developing potential solutions. Committees provide proposals for new initiatives, recommendations for budget allocations, evaluation and assessment reports, and other information that might be useful to the Planning Council for informed decision-making. At least two co-chairs are appointed annually by the President to lead each committee. Committee members are recommended by the committee co-chairs and confirmed and appointed by the President. Committee co-chairs also serve a one-year term ending in June. Co-chairs and committee members may be re-appointed, but it is expected that there will be opportunities for new appointees each year. Co-chairs and committee members are not members of the Planning Council itself.

The results of the committees’ work are presented to the Planning Council for review and approval through a consensus process. Planning Council recommendations are forwarded to the President and Senior Executive Staff for action. The Senior Executive Staff may accept the recommendations in whole or in part, modify the recommendations or send an issue back to the Planning Council for further work.

The Planning Council operates with a standing committee structure that includes the following 6 standing committees/teams:

Ad hoc committees may be convened to accomplish a specific task or study a specific issue, such as retention, to see what opportunities the College may have to enhance student learning or improve operational effectiveness.

Last Updated: 3/26/13